This Leafs Team is Pathetic

There’s something that I’ve been curious about recently, and I’m wondering if any readers can provide me some feedback on this.  How long does a Rogers Personal Video Recorder last?  What I mean to say is, how many times can one record and erase (read/write) content on a PVR before the storage device finally dies?  The reason I bring this up is because I am wondering if I should even bother recording Leafs games any more.  I mean, is there really a reason?  When I can’t watch a game live for one reason or another, I routinely record the game, then watch it later that evening, or the next morning in its entirety.  I do not fast forward or skip to the results, I watch the game fully.  

Last night, I was attending a charity event and had to record the Leafs game.  By the time I returned home, I was in no shape to watch the game.  I had a few too many to drink, and I had to get up to work this morning, so I figured it best to go to sleep and watch the game in the morning before work.  Heck, I figured it would be a great start to the day, after all, this was a game the Leafs should have won.  They were facing a team that had the worst powerplay in the league, and one which featured a goalie coming off an injury and who had an incredibly high goals against average (4.89 on the road, to be exact).  This should have been a slam dunk for the Leafs.

Waking up this morning, I rushed over to the television and started up the game from last night.  After the opening goal, I realized I should have utilized the extra hour to sleep.  The Leafs had two power plays in the first period, and played them out terribly.  How can a team not convert on a power play against the league’s worst penalty kill, and at home to boot!

In the second period, when Taylor Hall scored the second goal of the game, I was fuming.  What is wrong with this Leafs squad?  How can they be so consistently bad?  With three seconds remaining in the second period, Sam Gagner scored the third goal of the game, and we all knew it was over.

I don’t need to spare you with the details of how the rest of the game went.  It was a common formula and trend for which we’ve seen the Leafs execute all season.  Failure to score, failure to convert, and failure to adhere to smart defensive play.  This is no longer funny or sad, this is absolutely scary folks.  Your Leafs team is crapping the bed in the worst possible way.  How can the Leafs be unable to score goals at the rate we have seen this year?  Was Hagman and Stajan really all that important to the Leafs last year?  Lets be honest, there really isn’t much difference between the Leafs forwards of this year vs. last year.  And yet, here we are, six times shut out and it’s not even Christmas yet.  Excuse me while I vomit in my own mouth.

What are they to do at this point?  There isn’t really much the Leafs can do.  They can’t do any trades, and even if they could, they would surely be robbed.  The only tradeable assets on this team are players that either a) have a no trade clause, or b) are our only good talent.  We’re strapped here folks, tied down to the railway tracks until that steam engine runs us over.  And if we’re alive after it passes, we’ll look back as it speeds away towards Boston with the second overall pick in the second consecutive year.

Something has to be done.  Anything.  The fans at the ACC last night, god bless them, might be on to something.  At one point during the game, they began chanting “Fire Wilson”.  Look, who knows if changing the coach will do anything, but it’s clear that keeping him is doing nothing good for this team.  I can’t say what goes on in the locker room, but I get the feeling that these guys are not buying into his system, and they have little to no motivation.  We need a coach who can motivate these guys.  Heck, we need ANYONE.  For god sakes, bring up up Dallas Eakins if you have to as coach.  Something has to change, someone needs to motivate these players, and Wilson just isn’t cutting it.

In the meantime, I am still stuck in my dilemma.  Do I continue to waste the read/write cycles on my PVR for the Leafs?  Or save it for something more important (Mad Men?)

P.S. I am not going to post the “Game in Six Minutes” video, as I don’t want any of you to feel the pain that I felt this morning

Follow me on Twitter: @two1sts

About calleva

My long time devotion to the Toronto Maple Leafs, and by extension their never-ending streak of mediocrity, would lead many to believe that I am a masochist -- how else could someone bare to stand by a team season after season which has done so little in recent memory? The fact is, despite the ongoing circus that is the Toronto Maple Leafs, a true fan should never jump ship. Having said that, a sane fan should also maintain some level of acceptance and rationale. This blog is meant to act as a dumping ground for all information that pertains to our beloved Toronto Maple Leafs. Analysis, opinions and news, ripe with an honest assessment, sans the blue-and-white-coated goggles, are what you are sure to find here
This entry was posted in Results and Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

